Rie Kibayashi · Piano Recital

Soloist exam
Die Pianistin Rie Kibayashi

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
Piano sonata in c minor Hob XVI:20   
I. Moderato   
II. Andante con moto   
III. Finale. Allegro

Clara Schumann (1819–1896)         
Variations in f sharp minor on a theme by Robert Schumann op. 20

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
Estampes L 100         
I. Jardins sous la pluie        
II. La soirée dans Grenade        
III. Pagodes

Sergei S. Prokofjew (1891–1953)  
Piano sonata n° 8 in b flat major op. 84   
I. Andante dolce - Allegro moderato   
II. Andante sognando   
III. Vivace

The Japanese pianist Rie Kibayashi was born in Kyoto in 1989. She received her first piano lessons at the age of five from Kaoru Konii. She remained with this teacher until she graduated from the Kyoto Horikawa Municipal High School of Music. She then studied piano at Musashino Academia Musicae in Tokyo with Satoshi Shigematsu, Constantin Ganev, Julia Ganeva, and Elena Ashkenazy, as well as accompaniment with Junji Mitsuishi, graduating as "the best student" of her academic year. In 2017, she completed her master's degree at the Karlsruhe University of Music with Prof. Kaya Han with honors and continued her studies in the soloist exam program. She performs regularly in Europe and Japan and is a prize winner of numerous competitions both in her home country and abroad. Among them are the third and Iberia prizes at the Marbella piano competition 2017 (Spain), the second prize at the Dr. Hermann Büttner piano competition 2018 (Germany), the second and Clara Schumann prizes at the Brahms piano competition Detmold 2019. She also performed as a soloist with several orchestras, including the Philharmonie Baden-Baden and the orchestra of the Landestheater Detmold. She gathered important impulses at master classes given by Menahem Pressler, Klaus Hellwig and Jacques Rouvier.
In addition to playing as a soloist, she devotes herself intensively to chamber music and performs with various ensembles. Her interpretation of the Piano Quintet in E-flat major op. 44 by Robert Schumann together with the Clara Schumann Quartet was broadcast live on "Deutschlandfunk Kultur". She is currently studying piano chamber music with Prof. Angelika Merkle at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts as a scholarship holder of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, which supports her with a Deutschlandstipendium. With the "Trio Hannari", founded in 2020, with Hanna Ponkala (violin) and Larissa Nagel (cello), she won the Lenzewski Chamber Music Competition.

Eventtype: ONLINE
At the 23. April – 19:30 o'clock
Live Stream

Concert broadcast from the Genuit-Saal

Live Stream