The Senate decides matters of art practice, artistic development projects, research, teaching, and studies of fundamental importance that may not be referred to another body, specialist group, or higher education institution for final legal authorization.

The Rector, Vice-rectors, Administrative Director, and Women's Representative are ex officio members of the Senate. Appointed by election, the Senate has nine full-time professors, two members from among the artistic and scientific staff, artistic and scientific assistants, and teachers of special skills, a lecturer, two students and a supplementary staff member.

Members by office

  • Prof. Dr. Matthias Wiegandt – Rector
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Seibert – Vice-rector
  • Prof. Roberto Neumann-Domingos  – Vice-rector
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Overbeck – Vice-rector
  • Daniela Schneider – Chancellor
  • Marianne Berglöf – Equal Opportunity Officer
    Wiebke Eckstein (Vertretung)

Elected members

Full-time university lecturer representation

  • Prof. Pirmin Grehl
  • Prof. Markus Hechtle 
  • Prof. Julius Kircher
  • Prof. Momo Kodama
  • Prof. Christiane Libor
  • Prof. Johannes Lüthy
  • Prof. Dr. Arabella Pare
  • Prof. Andrea Raabe
  • Prof. Friedemann Röhlig  
  • Prof. Will Sanders
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Seedorf


Academic staff and lecturer representation

  • Johannes Forster
  • Kristian Nyquist
  • Prof. Maria Stange


Other employee representation

  • Grit Lamprecht


Student representation

  • Veronika Reutz Drobnic
  • Hendrik Rekers
  • Kristina Madeleine Stiegler



  •     Section spokespersons and heads of institutes

Honorary Senators

  • Sen. e. h. Bernd Bechtold
  • Sen. e. h. Dr. Hermann Büttner
  • Sen. e. h. Michaela Dickgießer          
  • Sen. e. h. Helmut Fischer
  • Sen. e. h. Dr. h. c. Daniel Fueter
  • Sen. e. h. Dr. Friedrich Georg Hoepfner      
  • Sen. e. h. Prof. Dr. Norbert Holstein    
  • Sen. e. h. Hans-Jürgen Müller-Arens
  • Sen. e. h. Klaus Nussbaum
  • Sen. e. h. Günter Pilarsky          
  • Sen. e. h. Dr. h. c. Thomas Renner
  • Sen. e. h. Matthias Tritsch    
  • Sen. e. h. Dr. Ilse Völter †         
  • Sen. e. h. Prof. Dr. Dr. mult. h.c. Heinz Kunle †          
  • Sen. e. h. Rainer Koch †