Award-winning Hölderlin composers

11. August 2020
Der Komponist Arda Iskol

The prize winners of the composition competition, which was announced on the occasion of Friedrich Hölderlin's 250th birthday by the Literary Society Karlsruhe as part of the "Literatursommer Baden-Württemberg 2020" of the Baden-Württemberg Foundation in cooperation with the Karlsruhe University of Music, received their prizes from the hands of Prof. Dr. Hansgeorg Schmidt-Bergmann at a small ceremony in the Literaturmuseum in the PrinzMaxPalais in Karlsruhe a few days ago.

The jury found three of the numerous compositions submitted to be worthy of an award. It awarded two first prizes - endowed with 1,500 euros each - to Arda İşkol (photo left) and Moritz Laßmann and a second prize of 1,000 euros to Franz Ferdinand August Rieks. The prizewinners study in the composition classes led by Prof. Dr. h. c. Wolfgang Rihm and Prof. Markus Hechtle, to whom the competition was explicitly directed. The prizewinners' concert originally planned for last May will probably be held in the summer semester 2021. [MD]

Die Komponisten Moritz Lassmann und Franz Ferdinand August Rieks

Franz Ferdinand August Rieks and Moritz Laßmann (c) Minzuo Lu